Bookworm Wednesday

Hi my name is Randi and I’m a nerd.

IMG_5672.jpg

See the resemblance? Sometimes you have to embrace your nerdiness.

Today I’m linking up with Molly to talk about the books I’ve been reading! This is my first time joining in on the linkup and I’m super excited. Rather than just recapping what I read last month, I’m going to tell you my favorite books I read last semester!

bookwormwednesday12

I have a literature minor so I’ve taken my fair share of English classes. This means that during the semester I am reading a book a week on top of all of my other classes. But most of the time I really enjoy the books and the professor so it’s worth it to me!

Last semester, I took a class called “Representations of Childhood in Film.” Basically we would read a book, watch the film version and then discuss the major differences and why we think they occurred. It may be my favorite college course I’ve taken! We read over 10 books but my favorites are as follows (and I think everyone should read them and see their movie counterparts)!

91NSkK0i78L-2

Tuck Everlasting is my FAVORITE book. The movie is one of my favorites too. It makes you contemplate life, the concept of forever, and love. If you haven’t read this, I urge you to go to the book store RIGHT NOW. It’s only 130 pages, and worth the quick read!

51GuzoWiFpL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

I was so excited when I saw this book on the syllabus. I had been putting off seeing the movie until I read the book. What’s really cool is that the book takes place in Pittsburgh aka my home town! It also tells a story about love and friendship… see a pattern here of stories I like?

book_thief

When I first purchased this book, I’ll admit I was hesitant to read it. It’s over 500 pages long! But the story Zusak tells about a  German family during the Holocaust is amazing.

Right now, I’m working on this book that my friend Julie let me borrow. I started it this summer but I haven’t had much time for my own reading until now. I’m excited to dive back into it. Mitch Albom is one of my favorites!

FirstPhoneCall HIRES

What are you reading? What should I read next? I’d love to know!

xoxo,
Randi

2 thoughts on “Bookworm Wednesday

  1. Molly Middleton says:

    Yay for your first time linking up with Bookworm Wednesday. I’m so happy you did!!! Also, I have never read Tuck Everlasting. And we’ve had it forever!! I feel you on not having a lot of time for reading. Sigh.

    Like

Leave a Reply

