What’s Up Wednesday – May Edition

 

Each month I love linking up with MelShay and Sheaffer to talk about what’s up with me and what’s new in my life. The last Wednesday of each month everyone gets together to answer the same questions with one seasonal question thrown in there just for fun. I love reading what everyone is up to (even people I don’t know) because it gives me lots of ideas of what to wear, eat, read, etc. So happy Wednesday from Hilton Head Island, South Carolina and here’s what’s up with me!

What I’m eating this week: 

Recently, (7 days ago to be exact) I started a tea detox. I had been reading up on many different brands and consulted a friend who used one, in hopes to find the most effective one. After many online reviews, I decided on BooTea. So far, I’m really liking it and starting to see results. I’ll you all know my review when I’m done!

IMG_2984

Since I’m teatoxing, I’m trying to eat healthy and avoid the good bad stuff like Doritos and donuts. This is VERY hard for me. I try to have a little indulging treat at night and use that as something to look forward to to eat healthy all day!

I did want to share this delicious meal I had the other night with you all though.

IMG_2906

I went out to eat with my aunt, uncle and cousins to one of their favorite restaurants, Michael’s. I had pistachio crusted chicken (not pictured: delicious homemade berry sauce), potato wedges and fresh veggies. Talk about delicious!

image2-1

After this, my cousins and I went to their favorite snow cone shop, Pelicans. I had the Pink Panther (half pink lemonade and half blue raspberry). It was so cooling and refreshing for a hot southern night.

What I’m reminiscing about:
Childhood memories. Whenever I see my cousins, memories from when I was little always come back to me. I spent a lot of time with them growing up and traveling to their houses to visit them. Some of my best childhood memories include my cousins.

IMG_2908

It was so fun to see Morgan and Madison this past week even if it was only for one night. We’ve gone from playing with dolls, hanging upside down on jungle gyms and watching Disney movies to talking about clothes, boys and the real world. Cousins make the best friends 🙂 I love these two so much!

What I’m loving: 
Having this view for the next week and a half…

Spending time with my family and getting to see family I don’t see often is making my heart so happy!

What I’ve been up to: 

Homework. How much of a nerd does it make me for doing home working during the summer? (I’m taking an online class to lighten up my load in the fall… I swear I’m not a total nerd 😉 )

What I’m excited about:
I’m super excited for my cousins to get here and to spend time with my other cousin who lives on the island.

DSCN2983

Here we are two summers ago on our last family vacation.
I take a little bit of cheerleading everywhere I go 😉

What I’m watching: 

As you all know by now, I love Grey’s Anatomy. Recently, I started binging on Private Practice. I would occasionally watch it when it was still on the air but I decided to start over from the beginnings.

Although I was never a fan of Addison on Grey’s, I love her on this. And you can’t help but love Charlotte and her sass!

IMG_2983

For someone who hates needles and anything related to hospitals, I sure do love hospital shows!

What I’m reading:
Is there anything better than reading at the beach? (No. The answer is no.)

IMG_2963I’m currently reading Wild by Cheryl Strayed. My friend Julie let me borrow her copy and I’m loving it. Although it’s different from the types of books I usually read (YA and romance novels), this is so inspiring. My favorite part of borrowing someone’s book is seeing what they thought. I love that Julie has underlined different quotes and thoughts that stuck out to her.

For example, Cheryl Strayed on books (underlined in picture above): “They were the world I could lose myself in when the one I was actually in became too lonely or harsh or difficult to bear.”

How true is this? I love being able to escape to another world in books.

What should I read next? Any suggestions? Comment and let me know 🙂

What I’m listening to: 
I’m currently listening to the sound of the ocean as I type this.
What more could I ask for?!

What I’m wearing:
Two is better than one right? I’m loving this lace tank which doesn’t need much to dress it up (it may or may not be my mom’s – thanks mom 😉 )

image4


What I’m doing this weekend: 

This weekend my parents and out of state family arrive! Can’t wait to see everyone and spend some quality family time together.

What I’m looking forward to in June: 

Next month I’m starting a huge internship! I’m super excited to be entering a new field and learn new things.

Seasonal question: What’s my favorite thing to cook on the grill in June? 

Considering I don’t grill, I love anything my dad grills. My favorites include steak, potatoes and veggies all done on the grill! Yum!

What else is new? 

Not much! What’s up with you?!

xoxo,
Randi
7 thoughts on “What’s Up Wednesday – May Edition

  1. kyliemcgraw says:

    Your beach vacation sounds like so much fun! I have never been to Hilton Head but I think lots of my extended family is coming to the beach with us this summer and I can’t wait! You are not a nerd…I took (and take) summer classes for the same reason;)

    Like

    • Randi says:

      Ahh you have to go to Hilton Head sometime. It’s my favorite place ever. There’s lots to do but it’s definitely more of a relaxing place. And family vacations are be best! 🙂

      Like

  2. Mattie says:

    I’m with you on Addison. Hated her on Grey’s, loved her on Private Practice (which I started on Netflix and never finished…I need to try again!). And I also hate needles and blood but for some reason I loved those hospital shows too (and Dexter, which is arguably worse!). I’ve been wanting to read Wild for a long time!

    Like

    • Randi says:

      It’s taking me a while because I’m busy (why am I so busy in the summer?!) but it’s nice to relax with a little Private Practice each night 🙂 I’ll have to check out Dexter. And definitely read Wild. Takes a little to get into but so inspirational! Thanks for checking out my blog 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

