A Randition on Seasonal People

People come and go in and out of lives, that’s natural. In today’s day and age, it’s almost expected. Love is lost, bridges are burned and friends are erased out of our lives. We tend to cut people out as easily as we delete their number and press “unfollow,” “block” or “unfriend.”

Some people would say that that is a bad thing to try and erase people from our lives. Others think the only good way to let go of someone who no longer plays a role in your life is to cut them out completely. I beg to differ. I think it’s both. I find it sort of bittersweet. You know, it’s good, but it’s also bad.

Rather than fixing something that is broken, sometimes it is better to replace it and start new even though that can be painful and hard. But is it really as easy to do it as it is to say it? Can we really cut these people out of our lives and never think about them again? No – not completely. That’s almost impossible. And we shouldn’t.

Yes after time we will think about them less and less, but one day something will make you think of them whether it be a line in a song, a favorite restaurant or an old photograph. You can’t erase those memories with the press of a button even if you wanted to.  And that moment my friends, will be bittersweet. Because at that moment, you will have healed and can appreciate the value of a memory.

And although normally we cut people out of our lives for good reason, I think we should remember them (at least a little).

I’d like to refer to these said people that we cut out or cut us out as “seasonal people.” Everyone has them. They can be lost friends, old loves or even family members. These people have a purpose and it’s not to hurt us (well, sometimes it is). These people came to us for a “season” of our lives to teach us something, to help us grow. And for that, they deserve to be recognized and thanked.

So now, take a moment to think of all of the people who lied to you, cheated you, broke your heart or did you wrong. Without them, you wouldn’t be who you are today! They deserve to be thanked (at least subconsciously).

BUT (there’s always a but), it’s hard to accept that some people don’t come into your life to stay forever – especially when we want and expect them to. And it’s even harder to accept that some people’s purpose in our lives is to help us learn lessons the hard way.

At times, we mix up seasonal and lifetime people. (I know I’m guilty for that.) And that’s what really makes us kick ourselves in the butt. I like to think that these mixups are a part of life; a part of figuring out what type of people we really want in it for the long run.

In the last 12 months, I’ve met and and drifted from people. I’ve made amazing friends that I pray are lifetime people and lost others who I know were brought to me to teach me lessons (some I’ll miss dearly and others I won’t). Sometimes though (most of the time in my case) we don’t realize the lesson of “seasonal people” until long after their season has passed.

To the people reading this, whether or not you play a seasonal or lifetime role in my life, whether or not you hurt me, angered me or brought me laugher and happiness, I thank you for all of the lessons learned the hard way and all of the memories I’ll always cherish.

With that, I’ll leave you with some of my favorite lyrics:
“Life’s a dance, you learn as you go”

xoxo,
Randi

5 thoughts on “A Randition on Seasonal People

  1. kyliemcgraw says:

    I dated someone in college for a long time that I decided was a lifetime person. And he turned out to be a seasonal person. At this point, we have been apart for longer than we were together, and I’m just NOW getting to the point where I want to thank him. Ha! I like this post. It’s very true for our girlfriends too. Some I am sad to have said goodbye to, others I am happily waving them away 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

