My First Pinterest Attempt – A 21st Birthday Gift

ae247153c870db594da22df6e7ddf1c7

I am 100% one of those lucky people.

Last month, my best friend Lauren turned 21.We have been friends for literally our ENTIRE lives. If you don’t believe me, see below.

FullSizeRender

IMG_1292

Now that’s a lot of friendship. We are even college roommates! Since we have been celebrating birthdays for a long time together, I decided I wanted to do something special for her big day. But I also knew it had to be something practical and useful for turning 21 😉

After finding a few cute and unique DIY (do it yourself) 21st birthday crafts on Pinterest such as these:

IMG_0830_2IMG_0831IMG_0832

I decided to construct my own version.

Side note: I am the least crafty person I know… this was a big adventure for me (and I may or may not have had some help from my dad who knows a thing or two about constructing things 😉 ).

All of the items used in this craft can either be bought at a craft store, liquor store and Bath & Body Works.

The first thing I had to do was buy something to create the display of goodies in. I chose this cute zebra bin because I figured it could be used to store things once all the contents were used!

IMG_1037

I also bought a foam block for the bottom of the bin, popsicle sticks, a package of pipe cleaners, glue and a bottle of glitter.

IMG_1030

IMG_1041

For goodies, I bought an assortment of miniature alcohol bottles and two bottles of Bath & Body Works body wash (a favorite of Lauren’s).

IMG_1031

I also bought these two adorable cupcake decorations just because they were cute!

IMG_1040

First step: Glue a popsicle stick to each of the mini bottles. While this was setting, I wrapped the foam block in tissue paper to make it prettier.

Second step: Twist the pipe cleaners on a pencil to “curl” them.

IMG_1038

After doing this, begin to place the popsicle sticks, pipe cleaners, and other decorations into the foam block. I also created a glittered “21” and “Happy Birthday Lauren!” sign to place in the bin.

IMG_1045

Taadaa! A cute and practical gift for a 21st birthday!

I’d say for my first Pinterest attempt, this was a success!

Be sure to check back Friday for a few of my Friday Favorites!

xoxo,
Randi

3 thoughts on “My First Pinterest Attempt – A 21st Birthday Gift

Leave a Reply

