Here Goes Nothing

I’m a firm believer in signs. I always have been. Butterflies and chemistry? Yup, I’m going to fall in love with you. Immediately being able to talk for hours like I’ve known you forever? I think we just became best friends.

Last semester during a random meeting with one of my favorite professors (sometimes I just look for reasons to go to her office and just talk about life), this said professor gave me some of the best advice I’ve ever received. She told me, “If something or someone gives you a bad feeling, turn around and run. Run. Don’t look back anymore and don’t waste anymore time on that.” So being that I love this teacher and her advice, (I’ve been known to say I want to be her when I grow up) I listened wholeheartedly.

However, she never mentioned what to do if something or someone gives you a good feeling. It must mean the opposite, right? If someone or something makes you feel good… Throw yourself at them. Run full speed in that direction and never look back. Right???

That being said, that’s how I got to this point. Finally deciding I wanted to start my own blog. So here I am now writing what is my first post in the notes app on my phone – maybe not super professional, but I’m from Gen YΒ so I think it’s acceptable πŸ˜‰

With blogging experience from my past two internships (one being an actual blog) I knew I could do this, I just didn’t know what I wanted to say or when/how to start.

Now back to signs and good feelings. For the last year and a half I’ve been following Shay Shull’s blog – I even have done so much as gone back and read every post she’s ever written. Extreme and maybe a little creepy, I know, but I was hooked. I’ve also started reading some of her friends’ blogs, too! (We’ll call this sign 1.)

When I became a Style Guru and started blogging for CollegeFashionista (check out my posts here) as an internship last semester, other fashion and lifestyle bloggers started following me on Twitter and Instagram (Sign 2).

But sign 3 came just the other day when I got a follower notification from someone who was also a college student and has a blog. Like the blog stalker I am, I immediately read her past and present posts to find out she was inspired by Shay too. (Sign 3 – Shay is a blogspiration!)

Then… as icing on the cake, I opened a note from my cousin saying she missed my Fashionista blog posts. (Sign 4) And bam! I knew I had to do it.

So, I’m not sure where this journey will take me, or what I’ll even write about. But I’m thinking my favorite F words are a good place to start… Family, friends, food, faith, fashion, funΒ and French fries (Yes, I believe French fries deserve a category of their own.)

More soon πŸ™‚

xoxo,
Randi

2 thoughts on “Here Goes Nothing

  1. Kylie McGraw says:

    I LOVE THIS!!! I love Shay, Andrea, Erika, and Shaeffer πŸ˜‰ I have tried to blog for the last three years and this year has been the only year I’ve been consistent. I can’t wait to read more of your posts πŸ™‚ So excited for you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

